top of page

What is EthPASA?

  • Ethiopian Professionals Association in Southern Africa (EthPASA) is a non-governmental, non-profit and independent professionals’ association not affiliated to any religious and/or political organization.

  • EthPASA is registered as a non-profit entity in terms of Section 14 of the Companies Act, 2008 of South Africa.

  • Founded in 2018, EthPASA aims to bring Ethiopian professionals in the region to put their experience and expertise together for a greater good of individuals and communities both in Ethiopia and Southern Africa. It works to contribute to the development of science, technology, and innovation in Southern Africa in general and Ethiopia in particular through critical research.

  • The primary members of the association range from students to professionals working in academics, various industries, and other institutions in the region.

Vision, Mission, and Values


To become significantly visible in research and education to influence policy making for the benefit of Africans in general and Ethiopians in particular. 


EthPASA is devoted to advance excellence in education and policy-relevant research as well as strengthen the associated institutions through collaborations and exchange platforms.

Core Values
  • Interdisciplinary: Promotes and influences professionals as an interdisciplinary field bridging theory, practice, and multiple sectors.

  • Inclusion: Fosters and promotes broad and diverse membership engagement.

  • Integrity: Insists on effective and ethical leadership practices and sound scholarship.

  • Interconnection: Builds upon the shared interests and complementary talents of members to support and strengthening tertiary and research institutions in target countries.

  • International perspectives: Respects cultural contexts and facilitates learning and networking across national boundaries.


EthPASA is overlooked by the Board of Trustees which is responsible to oversee implementation of the strategic plan and its alignment with its core values by close communication with the executive committee. The executive committee works jointly with other committees to handle the work of EthPASA. 

Board of Trustees:

  • Prof Mammo Muche (Chair)

  • Prof Legesse Kassa (Vice-chair)

  • Mrs. Wogayehu Bogale (Secretary)

  • Prof Fisseha Mekuria (Member)

  • Prof Mulugeta Dinbabo (Member)

  • Prof Temesgen Zewotir (Member)

  • Dr. Mesfin Kebede (Member)

Executive committee:

  • Dr. Tesfalem Tegegn  - Chairperson

  • Prof. Edilegnaw Wale  - Vice-chair

  • Dr. Samuel Tenaw - Secretary

  • Mr. Fasil Teka -  Finance Head

  • Ms. Frehiwot Berhane - Member

Other committees:






bottom of page